MBA Awards 21 Scholarships in 2014

Each year, the MBA is pleased to hand deliver 21 scholarships to deserving students. Ten students are awarded a $1,000 Families in Broadcasting Scholarship, created to aid employees at member stations as their children pursue higher education. Students were required to provide an essay and high school or college transcripts in order to qualify.

Familes in Broadcasting Scholarships were awarded to:
Andrew Hannon, Boston College
Brendan Taylor, Quinnipiac College
Theodore James Booras Boston University
Toni Ann Booras, Boston University
Jordan MacPherson, Framingham State University
Paige MacPherson, UMASS Amherst
Fallon Guin, Smith College
Brent Houle, Eastern Nazarene College
Cassandra Kipper, The Catholic University of America
Fiona O’Leary, University of Connecticut

Ten additional students are awarded Student Broadcaster Scholarships in the amount of $2,000. Student Broadcaster Scholarships are given to students pursuing a career in over-the-air broadcasting and enrolled in a broadcast program at a two or four-year accredited school. This year’s winners were selected from over 100 applicants and were chosen based on financial need, academic achievement, extracurricular and community involvement, and an essay about their interest in broadcasting.

Ashley Davis, Boston University
Bridget Wood, Emerson College
Evangelos Gikas, Connecticut School of Broadcasting
Lauren Feeney, Emerson College
Logan Sherwood, Franklin Pierce University
Alexandra Siegel, Fitchburg State University
Kelly O’Neill, Syracuse University
Aloysius Street, Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts
Kirsten McNeice, Salisbury University
Matthew Theriault, Bryant University

An additional scholarship was given in memory of the late Al Sprague, former president of the Massachusetts Broadcasters Association. Awarded in the amount of $3,000, this scholarship was presented to Stayshia Cody, who attends Emerson College.

Congratulations to all the students receiving a scholarship this year. Applications for the 2015-2016 scholarships will be posted on in January.